How much do you love this book!?

Hi all! ( At this point I’m hoping “all” is at least a few people who have stumbled across this page..) For my first post I wanted to talk about what it means when I really love a book. We don’t always have time to sit down & read an entire review, sometimes we just want to get to the point. Which is why on a lot of my posts you will see a ranking for the specific novel I finished.

I really thought about this before deciding what ranking system I was going to go with. It’s all easy to explain why I love something ( or in some cases…dislike…), but how do I wrap all that up into a number? or a sentence?  For me, a good book always ends with me either being jealous of someone who hasn’t read it (hello, they get to experience it all over again) or if I want to go back in time and re-read it. I have a few authors I’ve done this with before and I’m sure you all have a few too! Sarah Dessen sticks out for me, what I wouldn’t do just to  be able to read Just Listen for the first time again. That book touched something inside of my sixteen year old heart and I still don’t think I’m completely over it.

So this is how the ranking is going to work (for numbers, let’s think about it like 0-5 stars):

5 stars (The best of the best) gets “The Dessen Award” as I like to think of it. If a book has made me fall into “insta-love”, head over heels can’t stop thinking about it, want to shout it from the rooftop and become its best friend. Well, that book is going to get a whopping ranking called: 5 stars. (Very original, I’m hoping that someday I come up with something more catching).  To get this ranking, this book needs to make me want to read it forty times over again and buy every copy in the store. The characters seem like friends, the setting makes me want to live there, and the storyline has become a part of my everyday thinking.

4 stars ( an equally amazing ranking, I think!): This means that I  had a hard time putting this book down, flying through the pages just to see what happens. I felt emotionally invested with each character,  the plot itself had me hooked, and I thought about the book long after I put it down. Why didn’t it get 5 stars? Well, simply because as much as I loved it…I wouldn’t jump at the chance to read it again. I read it once, loved it, but I’m okay to put it down and maybe revisit it in a year or two. There just wasn’t that spark that a 5 star review gets, but this book deserves some high praise and that’s why it’s getting a 4. I would recommend it to friends and if I didn’t already own a copy, I would head out to add it to my collection.

3 stars: This goes to books where the characters were decent, but I felt myself putting the novel down one too many times. Did I regret reading this novel? Probably not, but would I jump at the chance to recommend it to someone? No, I would probably go with something different. It was still well written and I found myself emotionally attached in some way to the novel that I had to finish it.

2 stars/ 1 star: This rating goes to the books where I forced myself to finish them. Which is so sad, leaving a book behind is always like giving up a little piece of yourself. You’re so hyped to read it, but when you sit down with it you’re just so disappointed. The characters seem unrealistic (or I just really really disliked them) and the plot had me uninterested from the start. I hope that I don’t get too many of these type of rankings, but you never know!

Let the reading begin!

Leave a Reply

